//
you're reading...
Poetry/Poems

A Puzzle Of Purpose


 

As my heart beats like a drum,
I stay still, silent.
Every minute that goes by,
I lay here slowly dying.

I don’t know about tomorrow 
but I know this much is true,
I cry myself to sleep at night
for there are many things I wish I didn’t do.

War is not the answer.
Peace is no solution.
I don’t know what else to say,
I’m filled with much confusion.

As the blood keeps pouring out,
my skin keeps getting lighter.
I don’t want to die, you see,
I know that I’m a fighter…

Death has lost the battle.
I survived my doom.
But now that life continues,
What am I going to do?

 

“To live remains an art which everyone must learn, and which no one can teach.”  ~Havelock Ellis

~~

Written By John Matar

About John Matar

A Philosophical Journey shares the work of John Matar as well as other poets, writers and bloggers. Topics and discussions written are proudly displayed to enlighten and inform.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “A Puzzle Of Purpose

  1. You have a lot of courage for writing this. I’m going to share it out.

    Posted by Chris Conn | October 19, 2011, 03:45
  2. yo matar you wrote this!!!! dude no homo but this is beautiful!!! i love it! this speaks so much truth! i had no idea that you could write stuff like this!!

    keep writing my friend!!!

    tim

    Posted by tim powell | October 19, 2011, 10:16
    • My friend from war. I’m glad you enjoyed this. Since we have been back I find poetry soothing and relaxing. Theres no better way to occupy my time and relax my soul than writing. I hope your journey is treating you well. Thanks again Powell!

      Posted by John Matar | October 23, 2011, 16:45
  3. Love the poem, and really like the image too. Where did you find it? x

    Posted by elexxa | October 21, 2011, 22:41

Leave a Reply

You don't have to be left out! Subscribe to receive new discussions and topics via email with others who share the same ideas.

Join 62 other followers

A Philosphical Journey ©copyright 2011-2012

© John Matar and 'A Philosophical Journey', 2011-2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to John Matar and 'A Philosophical Journey' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

